Common Birds by Antony Owen

I am not a silent poet

I would rather hear anthems by common birds from bookies

than peacocks yelling their beauty like poets who write in Harrington.

I would rather be carried to God in clouds of the zoo-wolves howling

Then a mad man shaking incense begging on marble to common folk.

I would rather wait a million years to see a refugee claim the moon,

I picture a woman with a flag made from clothes dripping oceans and sweat.

I picture a child being cleaned by wolves and they howl at spaceships drowning

I picture a God declaring himself human but from London or Washington first.

I would rather hear laughter from a child that never knew it

Than a common bird singing to a world obsessed by peacocks

View original post

Leave a Reply

