don’t say i by Eva Gu

I am not a silent poet

in your poems, he said. it makes it

too personal apparently, which makes me wonder

what else is too personal for him

to bear. when blood ran from my body

like the life of the nile

he ran too

for his own life

because my womanness was too much for his body to understand.

i am not me, period. i am me

comma

the definition of oppression is not my identity

so don’t slip that harness over my head

don’t make me walk the tightrope between

fighting

and living

my mother was not a feminist

but she lived a feminist

and i

will do

both.

View original post

Leave a Reply

