Letter to Trump by Malka Al-Haddad

I am not a silent poet

Write down

I’m Muslim.

I’m from Sumerians who taught your ancestors to write.

Who taught me the pride of the sun

Long before I could read.

Write down

I’m Muslim.

I’m from Hammurabi

Who taught American what is law and urban civilisation

You, who were neither well-bred, nor well-born!

Write down

I’m Muslim.

My roots were entrenched before the birth of time.

I’m from the Land of Oil:

Black gold, which is your dream to steal.

Write down

I’m Muslim.

You left nothing for us

But these rocks.

So will your state take them

As it has been foretold?

Therefore:

Write down

I’m Muslim.

Nor do i encroach.

But if I become angry,

The usurper’s flesh will be my food.

Beware.

Beware

Of my anger.

Write down

I’m Muslim.

I’m the hot sun in a desert of magic you cannot get

In your palaces of gold.

Write down

I’m Muslim

View original post 22 more words

Leave a Reply

