12-Step Death Sentence by Michael Marrotti

I am not a silent poet

If I can help

one life

it’s worth

the time

At least

that’s what

I used to tell

myself

Everything

changed

this year though

New faces

keep showing up

for help

at alarming rates

All the old

clients

are still clinging on

to the program

Rehabilitation

is a long road

rarely passed

I’ve never known

this many

dead people

before

in my life

It seems like

they pass away

on a weekly basis

my consciousness

is embedded

with their names

and faces

I come here

on my own

volition

to make

a difference

sacrificing

my time

for the betterment

of the homeless

A year ago

I was eager

to show up

each week

religiously

It was different

back then

before the

constant influx

of new faces

overdoses and faith

rendered insufficient

I’d leave

with a feeling

of fulfilment

knowing I

made a difference

Now

when I leave

pessimism

takes over…

View original post 145 more words

Leave a Reply

